NB8 prezidentūra

In 2023, Latvia assumes the coordination of cooperation between the Baltic and Nordic countries – Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, and Sweden (the Nordic–Baltic Eight, NB8). The close Baltic-Nordic cooperation, which took shape in the early 1990s, is based on common values and political and economic interests. Russia’s brutal war in Ukraine has shaken the foundations of the European security infrastructure and directly influences the region’s security. Therefore, coordination of NB8 cooperation has become more important than ever.

The accession of Finland and Sweden to NATO offers better opportunities to exchange views on, and coordinate regional defence measures in the Nordic-Baltic cooperation format and take concerted action to strengthen the region’s resilience.

Latvia’s priorities for cooperation in the NB8 format are as follows:

  1. strengthening a rules-based international order;
  2. strengthening military security and deterrence;
  3. strengthening resilience.

See further information about Latvia’s priorities on the website of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.


During the year of its chairmanship, Latvia will host high-level political and expert consultations. The first meeting in that format has been scheduled for the early February and, following a tradition, will bring together directors for regional cooperation from the Ministries of Foreign Affairs of the NB8 countries.

Latvia took over the duties of coordinating the NB8 cooperation from Lithuania.