On 9 September 2022, the Council of the European Union adopted a Decision (EU) 2022/1500 on the suspension in whole of the application of the Agreement between the European Community and the Russian Federation on the facilitation of the issuance of visas to the citizens of the European Union and the Russian Federation. The Council Decision applies as of 12 September 2022.

With the Council Decision coming into force, as from 12 September 2022, visa applications from Russian citizens are considered in accordance with requirements set out in Regulation (EC) No 810/2009 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 13 July 2009 establishing a Community Code on Visas (Visa Code).

This means that the diplomatic missions and consular posts of the Republic of Latvia abroad: 

  • will collect a visa fee of 80 EUR;
  • can process a visa application within 45 days;
  • may request to provide additional documents to support a visa application;
  • accept visa applications strictly observing the territorial competence of missions.