On 18 November 1918, the Latvian people exercised their right of self-determination. However, an international recognition of the new state was still to be achieved.

After the establishment of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs in August 1919, the first Minister of Foreign Affairs, Zigfrīds Anna Meierovics, and other members of the Foreign Service mapped out the directions and tasks of Latvia’s foreign policy – Latvia’s recognition de jure, its membership of the League of Nations, and setting up of a Baltic Union.

At 5 pm on 26 January 1921, Oļgerds Grosvalds, Latvia’s delegate in Paris, was notified of the decision by the Supreme Council of Allied Powers that the state of Latvia had been granted de jure recognition.

De jure recognition means that the country has become a subject of international law: Latvia could proceed with acceding to international conventions, signing multilateral agreements, and taking part in international conferences as a full-fledged member, as well as organizing and participating in interstate meetings.

De jure recognition is permanent and irrevocable.