Latvia and the International Holocaust Remembrance Alliance (IHRA)

13.10.2016. 13:32

The IHRA (formerly the Task Force for International Cooperation on Holocaust Education, Remembrance and Research, or ITF) was initiated by former Swedish Prime Minister Göran Persson in May 1998. On January 2000, an international forum of interested governments to discuss Holocaust related issues took place in Stockholm. During the forum, a joint declaration was adopted emphasizing the need for encouragement of Holocaust education, remembrance, and research both nationally and internationally. The Stockholm Declaration forms the foundation of the IHRA.

In 2012, the new name – International Holocaust Remembrance Alliance (IHRA) - was adopted. Over time, the IHRA has now grown to be an intergovernmental body with 31 member countries, ten observer countries, and seven permanent observer organizations (including the United Nations, UNESCO, OSCE/ODIHR, Council of Europe, and others).

The work of the IHRA is organized within the framework of four core Working Groups – Academic, Education, Memorials and Museums, and Communication. The IHRA also has three Committees focusing on three principle areas of activity – the Committee on Antisemitism and Holocaust Denial, the Committee on the Genocide of the Roma, and the Committee on the Holocaust, Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity.

In 2004, Latvia became a member of the IHRA. The delegation is composed of representatives from various ministries andinstitutions.

For more information, consult the International Holocaust Remembrance Alliance home page at the following link: