The Ministry of Foreign Affairs and the Higher Education Export Association signs a Memorandum of Cooperation

28.05.2018. 22:47

On 28 May 2018, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and the Higher Education Export Association signed a Memorandum of Cooperation on attracting foreign students.

“The Ministry of Foreign Affairs welcomes the commitment of the Higher Education Export Association and its members to a careful selection of students. This is a good example that we encourage other Latvia-accredited higher education institutions to follow,” said Andrejs Pildegovičs, State Secretary at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs. The Memorandum of Cooperation is an essential instrument to promote joint activities, since it displays a mutual commitment to ensuring that the best foreign students travel to Latvia to study in higher education institutions accredited in this country.

Pursuant to the memorandum, higher education institutions – the members of the Higher Education Export Association – through testing the students’ general knowledge and foreign language skills, will select candidates who meet the appropriate admission criteria, while the Foreign Ministry will ensure that the students’ visa applications are duly processed in line with the time schedule laid down in the memorandum.   

The need for a cooperation memorandum was mainly proven by the rapidly increasing number of applications for student visas received at the Embassy of Latvia in India, the education export being one of Latvia’s priority lines of action in India in recent years. However, selection of potential entrants according to high quality criteria is vital when attracting foreign students, the main responsibility for which lies on schools themselves.              

Background information

The members of the Higher Education Export Association are 12 higher education institutions in Latvia:

  • BA School of Business and Finance,

  • Daugavpils University,

  • Latvia University of Life Sciences and Technologies,

  • Latvian Academy of Sport Education,

  • Liepāja University,

  • Rēzekne Academy of Technologies,

  • Riga Technical University,

  • RISEBA University of Business, Arts and Technology,

  • Turība University,

  • University of Economics and Culture,

  • University of Latvia,

  • Ventspils University of Applied Sciences.




Press Contacts:

Communications Group
Tel.: (+371) 67016 272
Fax: (+371) 67828 121
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Follow the Foreign Ministry:   twtr    icon-facebook    icon-flickr    ytb