Zanda Kalniņa-Lukaševica to represent Latvia in the session of the Council of Europe’s Committee of Ministers

16.05.2018. 18:15

On 17-18 May 2018, Zanda Kalniņa-Lukaševica, the Parliamentary Secretary at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, will take part in the 128th Session of the Council of Europe (CoE) Committee of Ministers to be held in Elsinore in Denmark, the country currently holding chairmanship of the CoE.

This year’s session will focus on conflicts and crises in Europe and challenges in the field of human rights, the rule of law and democracy to be addressed in a report by Thorbjørn Jagland, Secretary General of the Council of Europe.

Taking part in the meeting are foreign ministers and representatives from 47 CoE member states, five observer states – Japan, the USA, Canada, Mexico, and the Holy See – as well as the European Union and the OSCE.

For reference

The Strasbourg-based Council of Europe was established in 1949 and is the oldest political organisation in Europe with 47 member states. The goal of the Council of Europe is to build a common area of democracy and justice by ensuring that its fundamental values – human rights, democracy and the rule of law – are observed and protected. Latvia joined the Council of Europe on 10 February 1995.

The Committee of Ministers meets at ministerial level once a year, in the country currently holding the CoE chairmanship.

Press Contacts:

Communications Directorate
Communications Group
Tel.: (+371) 67016 272
Fax: (+371) 67828 121
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Follow the Foreign Ministry:   twtr    icon-facebook    icon-flickr    ytb