Foreign Minister Edgars Rinkēvičs to take part in the EU Foreign Affairs Council on trade policy

26.11.2015. 17:43

On 27 November in Brussels, the European Union’s Foreign Affairs Council will convene for a meeting on the issues of the common trade policy. The Latvian delegation will be led by Foreign Minister Edgars Rinkēvičs.

The ministers for trade of EU Member States will discuss the EU’s trade and investment policy, preparations for the 10th World Trade Organisation ministerial conference; trade negotiations with the United States; Asian countries and the members of the Southern Common Market (Mercosur), South America’s largest economic bloc; as well as exchanging views on other trade policy matters.

The Council is expected to adopt conclusions on EU trade and investment policy based on the Communication from the Commission: “Trade for All. Towards a more responsible trade and investment policy”.

In a discussion on preparations for the 10th WTO Ministerial Conference to be held in Nairobi from 15 to 18 December 2015, the EU position will be discussed on the Doha Development Round and an outcome to be achieved in Nairobi. 

European Commissioner for Trade, Cecilia Malmström will present an update on progress in negotiations on the EU-US Transatlantic Trade and Investment Partnership Agreement (TTIP). An exchange of views is expected on trade negotiations and deepening relations with the Asian countries and Mercosur.

Commissioner Malmström will also brief the Council on the EU’s trilateral consultations with Ukraine and Russia on the trade aspects of the EU-Ukraine Association Agreement in view of the provisional application of the trade provisions of the agreement as from 1 January 2016. The Ministers will discuss recent developments in EU economic relations with China and in the European steel industry.


Press Contacts:

Communications Group
Tel.: (+371) 67016 272
Fax: (+371) 67828 121
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Follow the Foreign Ministry:   twtr    icon-facebook    icon-flickr    ytb