Visa Code

02.02.2015. 15:26

All Member States of Schengen Agreement have common procedures and rules for issuing the short term visas (up to 90 days in any 180-day period). The rules are set out in Regulation (EC) No 810/2009 of the European Parliament and of the Council establishing a Community Code on Visas (Visa Code), a legislative instrument which is binding for all Member States of Schengen Agreement. This regulation applies to nationals of third countries that must be in possession of a visa when crossing the external border of the Union, as listed in Regulation (EC) No 539/2001. The regulation also establishes the list of countries whose citizens are exempt of visa requirements.