Entry requirements for the citizens of countries with whom Latvia has signed a bilateral visa waiver agremeent

21.03.2018. 11:36

Third-country nationals who do not require a visa to travel to Latvia enter and stay in Latvia as stipulated in Article 20(1) of the Schengen Convention and Article 5(1) of the Schengen Borders Code.

After the expiry of the maximum permitted duration of stay – 90 days within any 180-day period – the third-country national, without leaving the territory of Latvia, can extend his/her stay in Latvia for up to another 90 days depending on the period laid down in the bilateral visa waiver agreement between Latvia and the respective country.

The above procedures apply to the nationals of the following countries:

  • Andorra
  • Argentina
  • Costa Rica
  • Israel
  • Japan
  • Monaco
  • Panama
  • Republic of Korea
  • San Marino
  • Uruguay
  • USA
  • Special Administrative Regions of the People’s Republic of China – Hong Kong and Macao

After the expiry of the time period laid down in the Schengen Convention and a respective bilateral agreement, the third-country national must leave the territory of the Schengen area or the territory of Latvia, if he/she is entering another member state of the Schengen area with which his/her country of nationality has signed a bilateral visa waiver agreement.

A repeated entry into Schengen countries including Latvia is possible after a 90-day interval subsequent to leaving the Schengen area. This also applies to cases when the third-country national has not used up all the duration of stay provided for in the bilateral visa waiver agreement.

The third-country national is under obligation to provide proof of his/her stay outside the Republic of Latvia for at least 90 days after the expiry of the permitted length of stay, if this is not proved by border crossing stamps.